If You Really Knew Me…

This year I have started a weekly blog challenge for my freshman English classes.  They have to submit to me a blog entry to be posted in a new blog I started for them , called Real Teens Writing What They Know. Posts will start next week.  To challenge myself, I am writing the same entry each week with them.  Here is the first:

Man in Shadow

If you really knew me…

…you would know that before I was a teacher, I was a professional singer and dancer, sweating six steamy days a week for paychecks that barely covered rent and gas.

…you would know that I am the clumsiest person I know.  I frequently run into things, trip over things, knock over things, and spill things (both on the floor and myself)!

…you would know that I don’t really like most sports.  Maybe it is because I was never good at them so I avoided them.  Maybe it was because I just couldn’t understand why so many care about a game that doesn’t really matter.  Regardless, I am still amazed at how much financial and social power they hold.

…you would know that I turned down a full ride scholarship to the college my parents wanted me to go to so that I could go to the one I wanted to go to (at full price).  I stand by that decision today, even though I am still paying for it.

…you would know that I was a vegetarian in high school for an entire year because someone bet me I couldn’t do it.  I started eating meat again when she graduated.

…you would know that my wife is my best friend and the only person I feel I can truly trust.

…you would know that I think everyone deserves a second chance, but I rarely trust people enough to give thirds.  And I never forget.

…you would find that I believe all students have the ability to learn, as long as they are willing to try and occasionally fail.

…you would know that I drink Diet Coke straight out of the two-liter bottle and almost exclusively eat Cool Ranch Doritos during a show production week.

…you would know that I believe there is a correct way to fold bath towels.  And I get annoyed when people don’t do it the right way. And I have been known to refold them.

…you would know that I have ADD and Obsessive tendencies.  My perfectionism combined with my inability to focus consumes the majority of my time.  Activities others can do in minutes may take me hours.  I am also aware that I usually make things remarkably more complicated than they need to be.

…you would know that I worry every day if I am a good husband, father, and teacher.

…you would know that three years ago I started the most terrifying and difficult journey in my life, losing 130 pounds, nearly 40% of my body weight, through only diet and exercise.  Since then, I have run in 5ks, 10ks, sprint triathlons, an Olympic triathlon, half marathons, and a full marathon.  Finishing the Flying Pig might be one of my biggest accomplishments.

…you would know that I have an honest and true addiction with food that I battle every single minute of every single day, and I will have to for the rest of my life.

…you would know that I spent a large portion of high school feeling lonely, friendless, and depressed.

…you would know that I love to read, but hate to be told what to read.

…you would know that, even after all these years, I am still very insecure with my writing.

A mid-thirties teacher-husband-father-director from Ohio... attempting to finally commit to writing.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in life reflections, Weekly Blog Challenge
4 comments on “If You Really Knew Me…
  1. docwaxhattan says:

    Your writing has made me tear up twice recently! I’m so glad to have gotten to know you and am honored to teach with you.

  2. CJ says:

    Wow. So impressed with the great distance you have traveled in such a short time. I am honored to have met you through this site and as time passes I hope to ‘get to know you’ better. I am involved in reading the classroom blog you have going for your students and you will probably get to ‘know me’ little by little, through my interactions there, too.
    Good luck in all you hope to achieve or aspire to…sounds to me like you are on a remarkable course!
    CJ

    • overextended says:

      Thank you. I am sure you have noticed the gap in time within my own compositions. I am hoping to fill those gaps this year with essays I assign that I have not completed. I get so caught up in getting through theirs (and getting them up and posted in a somewhat timely manner) that I tend to put my own writing on the back burner. I am planning to make that change… as soon as I get through this stack of essays…. 🙂

      • CJ says:

        No worries. 🙂
        BTW, my oldest daughter, in spite of having her own very full life which includes caring for a baby with catastrophic medical needs and a six-year-old kindergartner, studies through University of Phoenix on a Master’s in teaching…such a noble field. I admire anyone who aspires to lead our youth as an educator. You are a ‘hero’ in my eyes.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 822 other followers

